What I’m Listening to Right Now

Music is a wonderful thing. The genres that I listen to most often include rock (alternative, classic, Southern, modern), pop, jazz (both authentic jazz and pop jazz), and classical. From time to time a musician or band will capture my attention, a sort of musical infatuation. Sometimes it is a new band or album, sometimes it is a record I have heard many times already but it suddenly stands out to me. Right now there are three musicians that I have been listening to quite a bit:

1. Slash (Guns ‘n Roses/Velvet Revolver).

I will readily admit I have a bias toward guitar-driven rock. Slash has written some of my favorite riffs and leads of all time. Lately I’ve been listening to Sweet Child O’ Mine, Welcome to the Jungle, Fall to Pieces, and Slither.

2. V.V. Brown

A few weeks ago I first heard about British recording artist V.V. Brown. I saw an interview she gave regarding some of her early recordings and the launch of her first major album in North America. I liked her fusion of pop and old school doo-wop. It is very evident in one of her older recordings called Crying Blood. I also like one of the singles from her new album called Shark in the Water.

Shark in the Water is not available on Vevo, so here is a link that will open in a new window with the song.

3. Jakob Dylan (The Wallflowers)

I’ve been a fan of The Wallflowers for a long time. Right now I’m listening to the Red Letter Days and Rebel, Sweetheart albums. Some day soon I plan to pick up Dylan’s solo album. At times I feel guilty about liking Jakob Dylan’s music more than his illustrious father’s.

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “What I’m Listening to Right Now

  1. Kate

    Jakob Dylan and The Wallflowers are two of my all time favourites. I have Jakob Dylan’s solo album (which I really love) and would be happy to bring it to church on Sunday if you want to borrow it!

Leave a Reply

