Autograph Collection: Scripture References

This is part of an ongoing series of posts documenting autographs I have collected over the years. The theme for this post is Scripture references. Without further ado here are six cards from my collection.

Don Slaught – 1993 Score Select

I sent this card to Don and he provided a very nice signature. The dark signature is placed below the chest protector and nicely aligned. I like the aesthetics of this card and signature. Don played in the Majors for sixteen seasons, and was a very productive platoon catcher for the Pirates in the early ’90s where he combined with Mike ‘Spanky’ Lavalliere to give the Pirates the greatest mustachioed catcher platoon in MLB during the 1990s. Don inscribed the reference Romans 5:3-6 under his signature:

Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Romans 5:3-6 (NIV)

Greg Gagne – 1994 Donruss

I obtained this signature through the mail during the 1996 season while Greg was wrapping up his career with the Dodgers. That year he posted the highest OBP of his career, maybe he should have signed cards for me more often. I’ll always think of him as a Minnesota Twin. In hindsight I wish I had sent him a card that portrayed him as a Twin. Greg added John 3:16 beside his signature:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son,that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16 (NIV)

Kevin Seitzer – 1995 Fleer Ultra

I obtained this signature through the mail in 1997 as Kevin played his final season in MLB in Cleveland. After emerging to great fanfare and success in Kansas City in the late ’80s he spent the ’90s in transit, posting respectable but not great career numbers. Kevin added the reference John 3:3 under his signature:

In reply Jesus declared, “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again.” John 3:3 (NIV)

Aeneas Williams – 1991 Pro Set Platinum

I obtained this autograph through the mail. It is one of my favorites from an aesthetic perspective. The small football drawing with the #35 as the laces tops it off. The card is a nice full bleed picture (1991 Pro Set Platinum is a very under-appreciated design, it is very sweet) that is perfect for signing. When the Cardinals were in the NFC East Aeneas used to wreak havoc against the Eagles. Like Darrell Green of the Redskins, he is a defensive back from a rival that I respect even though he caused me anguish as a fan. Aeneas added Romans 10:9 under his name:

That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. Romans 10:9 (NIV)

Trent Dilfer – 1996 Fleer SykBox Premium

I obtained this signature through the mail while Trent was playing in Tampa Bay, just before he went to Baltimore and won a Super Bowl with the Ravens. The card captures the glory of the orange and white uniforms the Buccaneers wore at that time and is a nice full bleed design. The signature is a bit spotty, though it is not smeared at all, so I think it adds to the character of it. Trent added a reference for Colossians 3:17:

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Colossians 3:17 (NIV)

Guy McIntyre – 1990 Score

I sent this card to Guy in 1996 as he played the final year of his NFL career in Philadelphia. He was a five time Pro Bowler and an excellent guard. In 1988 he caught a 17 yard touchdown pass, which is the stuff offensive linemen dream about. Guy’s signature is very legible. He added the reference I Corinthians 13 above his signature:

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames,but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. I Corinthians 13 (NIV)

Leave a comment

Filed under Autographs, Sports

Leave a Reply

