Discount Breakfast Cereal

Yesterday I was running a quick errand at the end of the day and I had a few moments to kill, so naturally I found myself wandering around Ollie’s Bargain Outlet. The store was quite busy, I attribute the pick up in patronage to the economic downturn.

Anyway, the thought crossed my mind: I wonder if they sell cereal? Cereal lasts a long time and is sealed. So I headed for the food secti0n.cereal2

The first cereal to greet me was Flutie Flakes. I had heard of them, but never actually seen a box for sale. Sold. I picked up a 10th Anniversary Collector’s Box with glee. Doug Flutie’s smiling face reassured me I had made a wise move. On the box Doug is wearing a nondescript football uniform, since the cereal is not licensed with the NCAA or NFL. On the back of the box there is an order form for Flutie Flakes gear (T-Shirt, pin, stuffed bear).

Right beside the Flutie Flakes were rows of Florida Gators Frosted Corn Flakes (2008 Limited Edition, no less). The box features Chris Leak, Danny Wuerffel, and Jack Youngblood wearing authentic Florida uniforms (this cereal is licensed with the NCAA). On the back of the box is the following slogan: “Refuel with Chcereal1ocolate Milk. Chocolate Milk-Beverage of Champions.” And then there is a quote:

For as long as I can remember I’ve been a big milk drinker. From the time I started playing sports as a kid all the way through my college and professional careers, milk has been a part of my daily diet. Even to this day, I fully believe in the benefits of milk and would recommend it to anyone who leads an active lifestyle. – Jack Youngblood (University of Florida Hall of Famer)

I picked up a box of Florida Gators Frosted Corn Flakes too. It was the right thing to do.

Today I performed a taste test of the two cereals. They are nearly identical, and both taste remarkably like Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes. The only differences I could see was that Flutie Flakes were a bit larger in size. Nutritionally the cereals are very similar. Flutie Flakes contain slightly more sodium, sugar, and potassium while Florida Gators Frosted Corn Flakes contain slightly more iron. 

I might venture into the discount cereal aisle again. Who knows what obscure cereal I might find? Of course the holy grail is Smurf-Berry Crunch. I can still recall how this cereal tasted, smelled, and how inexplicably wonderful it was. If I found it for sale I’d probably buy a case. . .

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

