An Improv Dinner

I enjoy cooking and baking things using what I have on hand. This is even more fun when no recipe is involved. Some of my favorite meals have occurred under these circumstances (and to be fair some of the worst).

Today I had leftover marinara sauce that I had to use up, so I decided to make something with that thought in mind.

I happened to have boneless chicken breast, and I recalled an entree my sister made over Easter weekend that involved rolled up chicken breast. I decided to slice the chicken breast in half to make it nice and thin, and I searched in my refrigerator for stuff to put in it. I had some deli sliced ham and shredded mozzarella cheese remaining from making strombolis (that’s why I had the marinara sauce too), so I decided to use that. I put a layer of mozzarella on the chicken, added a mix of spices (pepper, basil, oregano, thyme, parsley), a couple of pieces of sliced ham, and then a bit more cheese. I then rolled the entire thing up like a scroll and put it in the oven.

dinner1

A chicken scroll before (left) and after (Right) baking.

When the chicken emerged from the oven I put some marinara sauce on it and sprinkled a bit more mozzarella on top of that, then put it back in the over for a few more minutes.

I made a batch of rice and boiled a few carrots to accompany the chicken. So the finished product looked like this:

dinner2

A chicken scroll that has been marinaranated.

I also had some lettuce and a cucumber in my refrigerator, so I added crumbled smoked cheddar cheese, croutons, and pecans to that for a salad (topped with Tangy Tomato Bacon dressing of course).

dinner3

You don't win friends with salad.

Throw in a Killian’s Irish Red and a glass of water and dinner is served.

dinner4

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “An Improv Dinner

  1. This seems like a simple recipe to follow (+- some items ) and looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

