Opening Night in Reading

I stopped by Baseball Town for Opening Night. The Reading Phillies played the Harrisburg Senators on a brisk spring evening. I arrived an hour and twenty minutes before game time, but still had to park very far from the stadium. The line at the gate was long, and by the time I got there the supply of Phillies World Champion throw blankets was exhausted. I expected this to happen, so I wasn’t devastated (but it was a very nice throw blanket).

I had arranged to meet my friend Duane at the park. We discussed life, love, and other mysteries. It was good to catch up while taking in a baseball game.

Before the game Brad Harman was given his World Series Ring (he played a few games for the Phils last year when Jimmy Rollins was injured).

harman_ring

My precious.

First Energy Stadium is a wonderful minor league ballpark. I love the vintage parts of the park, but I also appreciate the modern additions. The Chick-fil-a Fowl Porch beside left field amuses me.

chik-fil-a

The Fowl Porch, it's not fair.

Several elderly fans were sitting near us. As the game went on they began to leave. Finally one man was left, and he sat with us and talked baseball for the remainder of the game. It reminded me of the days years ago when I used to go to games alone and talk baseball with elderly fans at Reading.

Tyson Brummett pitched a good game, but the bullpen decided to squander the lead. In the top of the 9th a solo homerun tied the game, and the first game of the season went to extra innings.

In the 10th the Senators plated a run, the R-Phils did not. The final score was 6-5.

A few interesting notes:

  • The R-Phils had a hit in all nine innings of regulation.
  • Michael Taylor was struck in the posterior by a line drive in the 6th while running the bases, which cost the R-Phils a run.
  • Dallas Green was at the game.
first_energy_stadium

Baseball is back!

Leave a comment

Filed under Photos, Sports

Leave a Reply

