The Onion Makes an Error

I appreciate satire news.

My favorite satire news source is The Onion website. Once or twice a week I stop by to read articles, watch news shows, and listen to radio broadcasts.

On Tuesday when I saw an article about a Tsuga canadensis posted on The Onion website I had to read it (Tree Featured in ‘The Deer Hunter’ Dies). Everything was funny until I got to the casue of death, adelgid beetles and lightning. Adelgid beetles? What?

In all liklihood the adelgid beetle they refer to is the hemlock woolly adelgid (Adelges tsugae), and that is most definitley not a beetle. Adelgids are in the Order Hemiptera, while beetles are in the Order Coleoptera.

I’m going to have trouble trusting The Onion again.

If they don’t know an adelgid from a beetle what’s next?

I’m beginning to wonder if the featured hemlock was truely an eastern hemlock (Tsuga canadensis) in the first place? Carolina hemlock (Tsuga caroliniana) is more common than eastern hemlock in North Carolina. . .

Leave a comment

Filed under Humor

Leave a Reply

