SCEFC Set List (March 15)

On Sunday I am serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church. The text for the message is Philippians 4:10-23. The theme of contentment is prevalent in this passage. And that’s what I decided to run with.

Song #1 – (E) You are My King – Billy James Foote

I like this song as an opening song because it states the gospel, reminds me of truth, and motivates me to respond to it. This song landed on my List of Songs I Do Not Use because of the phrasing at the end of the verse (“It’s my joy to honor You. In all I do I honor You.”). I do my best to avoid songs that require me to blatantly lie. I’ll be making a lyric adjustment, which has traditionally been done at SCEFC in the past with this song. I spent a good deal of time trying to come up with phrasing for the last sentence that is divided into two four syllable phrases, but I didn’t find anything I liked. I’ll just be adding a “may” in the middle. . . **edit: instead of “may I” I used “let me”** 

This song is very conducive to cut capo chord voicing. I’ve been playing around with a progression that involves a I, IV, V chord movement with the V chord morphing into a I at times thanks to the cut capo voicing (EM9 to Bsus4 to EM9 to Bsus4 ) before moving to the I. It sounds very Tonic-esque. I know I’ve stated how much I enjoy playing with a cut capo before, but I need to say it again. I just might devote a blog post to my cut capo in the future.

Song #2 – (E) You are My All in All – Dennis Jernigan

As far as statements of contentment go, I think this song is a pretty good one. I like the pairing of contentment and discontentment here. There is contentment in being fulfilled through Christ, yet a discontentment with how well I know Him (or to state it differently, a desire to continue to seek after Him).

I’m planning to use a cut capo on this song too. I’ve changed the key to E to facilitate this. I find it interesting that there appear to be two official versions of this song. I have two copies that bear the same copyright and melody, but have different chord progressions. I’ve been playing around with a picking pattern to use.

Song #3 – (A) Blessed be Your Name – Matt Redman & Beth Redman

This song has always felt like a modern day Psalm to me. I like the simplicity of the song.

As I typed up a chord sheet for this song I was struck by the difference one s can make. Certainly the dessert place is happier than the desert place. This song completes my cut capo trifecta. I do not need to use it, but keeping it on my guitar will make a smoother transition than switching to my regular capo. I do like having a high E available to add to chords, so the cut capo does add something (though I’d rather have an F# than an E on the lowest string).

Song #4 – (G) Enough – Chris Tomlin 

When I decided on the theme of contentment this was the first song I thought of. I find it very challenging and encouraging. The previous songs focused on contentment, but the choruses contained statements of truth and praise. This song has a chorus that is both a statement of truth and a reminder. It could be seen as  a personal statement of commitment or intention.

Closing Song – (Bb) It is Well with My Soul – Horatio Spafford 

I picked this song out shortly after selecting the theme for the week. I have never liked playing this song on the guitar, so I decided to work out chord voicings that were more fluid. I did this on Sunday afternoon. After about thirty minutes of sitting on my living room floor playing with a capo and many different keys and voicings I found what I was looking for. I had a college basketball game on the television (muted), so after figuring out the song I sat on the floor playing my guitar and watching the game. After a few minutes of this my phone rang.

It was my friend Matt calling (he is preaching on Sunday). He was calling to request the song It is Well with My Soul as a closing song. Good timing. . .

4 Comments

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

4 responses to “SCEFC Set List (March 15)

  1. johnnysherwood

    Great timing for preparing “It is well” and receiving the phone call. Cool to hear you’re using the cut capo. I was using it on a few tunes this morning. How was the service?

    • I’ve really fallen in love with the cut capo. So far I have only used it for the keys of E and A (on the second fret). I’m planning to experiment in other keys at some point.

      The service went well this morning. Musically speaking things were relatively smooth, and I think many people were encouraged and challenged. Thanks for asking.

  2. Thanks for leading worship on Sunday. I thought it went well. I appreciate when you lead because it feels like a partnership between the music and the message!

  3. RaiulBaztepo

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

