“Love,” Baseball, and Satellite Photography

Love

Today is Valentine’s Day. Alas, the day bears no significance to me. That being said, part of the title of this post is “love,” so what am I referring to? Let me tell you a short story. . .

It all began on Wednesday afternoon. I drove to Wal-Mart to pick up a few things. I parked in my usual location (far, far away from the door) and walked into the store. I grabbed a cart and found the items on my list. I paid for them, then I made the trek out to my car. I realize this story is quite boring . . . please indulge me.

When I took my cart to the closest cart return I noticed that the carts were extremely unorganized. This resulted in the return being full even though few carts were inside it. People had begun to leave carts next to the return (an egregious offense in my book). I jumped over the side of the return and organized the carts, creating space (See Figure 1). It only took a minute of my time, and if I had not done it I would still be bothered that I had just walked away.

carts

Figure 1. The cart return before (left) and after (right).

I thought no one had observed this. I was walking back to my car when I noticed that a middle-aged woman standing beside an SUV was watching me. She reminded me of Meredith from The Office. As I waked by she looked at the cart return, then back at me. Then she said “I love you.”

I found it humorous. Obviously this is not real love, which is why I put quotation marks around the word. Of course I was left wondering why it had to be Meredith watching and not Pam.

Baseball

Today is the official day Phillies pitchers and catcher report for Spring Training. I think they were all in Clearwater yesterday or earlier, anxious to get started. I view today as a holiday (as is Opening Day). I think I might watch The Perfect Season: The 2008 Phillies Video Yearbook tonight.

Satellite Photography

I am disappointed in the poor quality of the satellite image Google uses for the State College area (Google Maps and Google Earth). It’s about time they find a shot with better resolution.

1 Comment

Filed under General, Sports, Thoughts

One response to ““Love,” Baseball, and Satellite Photography

  1. Paul

    “Of course I was left wondering why it had to be Meredith watching and not Pam.”

    (sigh) I feel ya brotha.

    “I think I might watch The Perfect Season: The 2008 Phillies Video Yearbook tonight.”

    Mother @#$% piece of @#$%@. I @#$%@ hate @#$%@$#%@#$%.

Leave a Reply

