The Art of Bacon Weaving

burns1
Bacon weaving restraints

Several weeks ago my friend Paul introduced me to the concept of bacon weaving by sending me a link to an enlightening blog post. Shortly thereafter my sister Becca sent me a link to a New York Times article that featured bacon weaving, sausage, and barbeque sauce. Then last week my friend Ryan sent me a link to a blog post that showed pictures of the sausage-filled woven bacon topped with barbeque sauce.

As soon as I heard  about this noble pastime I knew I had to try it. The only way to prevent this from occurring would have been to restrain me in a Hannibal Lecter-like fashion (or Mr. Burns-like).

But on Super Bowl Sunday as evening approached I was unrestrained and unsupervised. My bacon vice took hold.

I started by weaving a square of thick sliced bacon.

bacon_weaving1

A simple bacon cross weave

The next step was a careful inspection to make sure the weave was nice and tight.

bacon_weaving2

This bacon inspected by: 2514

I baked it at 400° until the bacon reached the wonderful state of slight crunchiness while maintaining its flexibility. After removing the bacon from the oven I used an alarming number of paper towels to soak the grease from the bacon mat.

I then scrambled a half dozen eggs, which were placed on the bacon quilt. I coated the eggs with shredded cheddar cheese.

bacon_weaving3

Some assembly required

The rolling up process was relatively easy. I tucked the seam on the bottom side, and suddenly I had a bacon roll.

bacon_weaving4

The finished product

And here is another angle (to show off the bacon weave).

bacon_weaving5

It looks like a tasty scarf

I exercised self control and only ate half of the bacon roll.

Bacon weaving is an art form. Someday I might attempt to make the sausage-stuffed bacon roll that gets slathered in barbeque sauce and smoked. But for now the bacon, egg, and cheese model will be sufficient.

burns2

Have you ever woven bacon, Clarice?

10 Comments

Filed under Food

10 responses to “The Art of Bacon Weaving

  1. Paul

    Oh man, it looks glorious! I’m going to have to give this a try myself.

  2. Pingback: the art of bacon weaving « Buffet o’ Blog

  3. mom

    Wow Ben!
    This looks amazing!
    I am tempted to try this but……………
    how many WW points are in one tastey “scarf”?

  4. Rebecca

    I am so sorry to hear that I have been an accomplice in clogging your arteries.

    Yesterday evening I ordered salmon for dinner and asked for the accompanying brussel sprouts to be cooked without the listed bacon and butter sauce.

    You would have been ashamed.

    I had to choose between the bacon or beer(s); the beer(sss) won.

  5. Miles P.

    What’s the grease factor here? Did you have to use a tray with an edge?

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog, Miles.

      I placed the foil/bacon on a large tray that had an edge, and there was a fair amount of standing grease after baking. I transferred the bacon mat to a layer of paper towels and used more paper towels to remove as much of the grease as possible.

  6. Pingback: The Life and Times of Bacon: Bacon Weave Burrito | LikeMe Daily

Leave a Reply

