Dressing, Tennis, and Amigos

A New Dressingbacon_onion

This afternoon I went grocery shopping. It seemed all the residents of State College decided to do the same, for the grocery store was extremely busy. As I walked down the aisle containing salad dressings and other condiments I got caught in a cart traffic jam. I could not move. Held prisoner, I decided to survey the salad dressings beside me to pass time. Lo and behold I found something wonderful . . .  Creamy Bacon & Onion dressing. I haven’t tried it yet, but I am bursting with optimism and expectation. Usually I prefer orange or red dressings to light colored ones, but bacon is the great equalizer.

Tennis Beckons

Tomorrow morning I will be getting up at 3am. Why? Because the Australian Open final begins at that time. Federer vs Nadal. It’s a huge match. It is perfectly fitting that the tournament should wreak havoc to my schedule once more.

The Quotable Three Amigos

I watched ¡Three Amigos! last night. It’s surprising it took me so long to get around to watching this film, considering my fondness for Steve Martin and Chevy Chase. Here are a few of my favorite moments.

Dusty Bottoms (Chase) is talking to a woman named Rosita.
Rosita: I was thinking later, you could kiss me on the veranda.
Dusty: Lips would be fine.
The three amigos see a plane fly by.
Dusty: What’s it doing here?
Ned: I think it’s a male (mail) plane.**
El Guapo has a conversation with a henchman.
El Guapo: Would you say I have a plethora of pinatas?

**I never realized how difficult it is to communicate a pun in written form that is based around a homonym. In the conversation it initially seems he is speculating that the plane is a mail plane. In truth he is referencing its anatomy, which he clarifies (and finds very funny, while his friends never get the joke).

1 Comment

Filed under General, Thoughts

One response to “Dressing, Tennis, and Amigos

  1. Chris

    “You shot the invisible swordsman!” – excellent physical gag!

Leave a Reply

