Let’s Go See a Movie

I don’t hear those words very often. I’ve only darkened the door of a movie theater 24 times in my life. And I’ve only seen 11 movies in a theater. How does this equate to darkening the door 24 times? Easy, the door is darkened when you walk in and out of the theater, so the equation would be MS x 2 = DD (Movies Seen x 2 = Doors Darkened). Uh, 11 x 2 = 22. . . not 24.

Well, there is another category to be considered. Here it is: You go to see a movie, purchase a ticket, sit in the theater, and then the projector burns out, so you never see the movie but you darken the door twice anyway. That adds another 2 for me, so 22+ 2 = 24.

Here is the list of movies I’ve seen in theaters:

1. An American Tale (1986)
2. The Lion King (1994)
3. Babe (1995)
4. George of the Jungle (1997)
5. Master and Commander (2003)
6. Ocean’s 12 (2004)
7. Starsky and Hutch (2004)
8. Fun with Dick and Jane (2005)
9. American Gangster (2007)
10. The Simpsons Movie (2007)
11. Quantum of Solace (2008)

Of those eleven films, the only one I went to see of my own initiation was The Simpsons Movie. That’s not to say I was forced to watch any of the others, but I saw them as part of a group. Someone else instigated the trip to the theater . . . If you haven’t guessed by now going to see a movie doesn’t do much for me.

Don’t get me wrong, I do like movies. I just prefer to watch them as DVDs. Why? Here are a few reasons: 1) Cost. 2) The sound of many people eating popcorn. 3) I only like a few select seating locations in the theater. 4) The sound of people eating popcorn.

I keep an Excel database of the movies/films I’ve seen. My current list is at 871 different titles. I’m sure I missed a few at some point, but I’ve worked pretty hard to make the database as complete as possible.

By the way, my favorite moment at a movie theater was seeing The Simpsons Movie and hearing 3/4 of the people in the packed theater spontaneously singing along with the Spider Pig song. It’s not often you hear congregational singing at a theater.

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “Let’s Go See a Movie

  1. Paul

    “I keep an Excel database of the movies/films I’ve seen. My current list is at 871 different titles.”

    Have I told you lately that you’re my hero?

Leave a Reply

