A Few Thoughts from this Weekend

I wish kim-chi smelled like bacon. I have several neighbors who eat kim-chi regularly. I know this because I can smell it. I bought a few candles to try to alleviate the scent. If only someone would develop a bacon-based kim-chi.

Late night Wal-Mart shopping is interesting. Every time I stop by Wal-Mart late at night I see interesting people. On Saturday I stopped by to pick up a few things and I saw

  • A middle-aged couple buying copious amounts of lingerie.
  • A man arguing with his wife via cell phone over whether instant rice and regular rice are the same thing (“Honey if you don’t calm down I am hanging up the phone and walking out of here with no rice at all!“).
  • A woman teaching an elderly eastern European man what candy bars are common in the US (“I have heard of Snickers, what is Almond Joy?” *must be read in a heavy accent).
  • A frat boy arguing with a sorority girl (they were both wearing shirts with prominent Greek letters) over the importance of calories and carbs (“Carbs don’t mean ****, it’s all about the calories“).

Turning to the Psalms on sleepless nights. So if you happen to be fighting insomnia and you decide to read a few Psalms I recommend avoiding Psalm 127 (Unless the Lord builds the house its builders labor in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain. In vain you rise up early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat – for he grants sleep to those he loves.) I realize I’m reading this out of context, but I find it amusing to turn to that passage and read: “. . . for he (God) grants sleep to those he loves” while I find it impossible to fall asleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Humor, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

