A Stromboli Story

It was brought to my attention recently that I have not mentioned cooking or baking on this blog. A reader might get the impression that I survive on Pringles and pizza. That would be false. I rarely eat out (or order take-out food). As a male, 20-something graduate student I fit the profile of a Ramen noodle addict. Thankfully my culinary skills have been honed beyond boiling water and running a microwave.

I do quite a bit of baking and cooking.

My stromboli story begins this morning before I left for campus. I took some Rhodes white bread dough out of the freezer to thaw. By the time I returned to my lair in the late afternoon the dough was ready for action. I preheated the oven for a temperature between 350° and 325° (with my relic of an oven you need to be flexible about temperatures). I then sauteed a few mushrooms in butter and fried some chip steak.

After stretching, flattening, and playing with the dough I put down a base layer of mozzarella cheese, Parmesan cheese, basil, and oregano.

stromboli1

The next step involved layers of mushrooms, steak, and pepperoni. Another layer of mozzarella cheese was added to the top.

stromboli2

 The sides and ends were pinched together and the entire thing flipped upside down, putting the seam on the bottom were it is more likely to stay closed. After approximately fifteen minutes in the oven the stromboli emerges with a Hollywood tan.

stromboli3

I estimate that this bundle of doughy goodness contains ~ 2500 calories. Most days I simply chop it in half and eat it. Every once in awhile I’ll refrigerate part of it for another day . . . but that is a rare occasion. Today I paired it with some marinara sauce and a Dundee Pale Ale. Is it a perfectly balanced dinner? Not exactly. I’ll leave balance to gymnasts and Jenga players.

stromboli4

Dinner is served

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Photos

One response to “A Stromboli Story

  1. Bernie Jacabella

    Thanks for humoring me with this tantilizing blog entry…I envy you the fact that you can still sit down and polish off the whole thing and not weigh in at 300 pounds! Your creation looks good enough to eat and it would be a shame to let a lonely portion of it languish in the cold dark frig. Besides, balance isn’t everything it’s cracked up to be and occasional indulgence is a necessity!
    Bernie

Leave a Reply

