Pringles Power Rankings

I’ve been working on my list of Pringles flavor power rankings for the past couple of weeks. During that time I’ve consumed a quantity of potato crisps that I am confident would kill a lab rat.

So here are my ratings for the flavors I was able to locate. The Pringles Extreme Series is denoted with an (E), the Restaurant Cravers Series is denoted with an (RC). I’ve assigned each flavor a letter grade (A-F), a taste rating (1-10 scale), an aftertaste rating (1-10 scale), and a Ben’s Power Ranking standing.

pringles_list

Now for a bit more of a review:

1. Cheesy Fries (RC)

I really like the mild cheese flavor and sour cream aftertaste of this chip. It is a great companion to sandwiches. Taking a card from Budweiser, this chip has eatability. What does that mean? I don’t know, but I do like to eat them so I think it applies.

2. Sour Cream & Onion

The person responsible for sour cream and onion chips should have a monument and a national day of recognition. Enough said.

3. Honey Mustard

This is a great chip to pair with a sandwich. The honey mustard flavor is not overpowering, but it is strong. I would compare the flavor to French’s Honey Mustard. There is a definite subtle sweetness to it.

4. Screamin’ Dill Pickle (E)

I consider myself an ambassador for this flavor. Most people balk at the thought eating a chip that tastes like a dill pickle. But it’s so good. Plus, the aftertaste resembles that of a McDonald’s cheeseburger. Try it, it might surprise you. Do it. Do it. . . Do it.

5.  Original

Sometimes you just need to go back to the basics. The Original flavor holds up well.

6. Bacon Ranch

If you add bacon to things it makes them better. Trust me. So a bacon flavored Pringle has to be a good thing. Unfortunately the bacon flavor is very subtle, so it doesn’t quite qualify for an A. It’s a good chip though. The aftertaste is a bit smoky and bacony.

7. Salt & Vinegar

It took me years to try this flavor. For some reason it always sounded bad. I was pleasantly surprised. This is best as a companion chip in my book, not a stand alone. But it is very good with a sandwich, pizza, or chili.

8. Kickin’ Cheddar (E)

At first you taste the cheddar flavor, then the kick comes in with a hot pepper aftertaste. The hot pepper and cheese pairing is a nice touch.

9. Smokin’ Hot Ranch (E)

I think this flavor is a bit bland. I think you can remove the smokin’ hot part and just call it ranch. It earned a “meh” form me. Not great, not bad . . .

10. Chili Cheese

This is a good flavor for the sort term. it gets old pretty quickly, however, so that prevents it from securing a higher ranking. The flavor is exactly what you would expect, a mildly spicy chili and cheese taste with some of the spices dominating the aftertaste.

11. Loaded Baked Potato

The presence of bacon in this flavor makes me appreciate it, but I wouldn’t call myself a big fan. It seems like there is too much going on in this flavor. You might want to think of it as flavor mayhem.

12. Pizza

This is the flavor formerly known as Pizzalicious. The flavor and aftertaste are somewhat similar to pizza sauce.

13. Cheeseburger (RC) and Cheeseburger

A chip that tastes like a cheeseburger, sort of. I believe the regular cheeseburger flavor is the same as the Restaurant Craver series flavor with the same name. If there are differences they were too subtle for me to pick out. My friend Ryan proposed eating this flavor in conjunction with Screamin’ Dill Pickle Pringles for a true cheeseburger experience (and the pairing is quite good).

14. Blazin’ Buffalo Wing (E)

My first reaction to this flavor was this tastes like General Tso’s chicken. But that flavor lasts for about one second, then the buffalo wing comes through. If you like wings this might be a good flavor for you . . . I’m not a huge fan of wings. It’s good as a novelty.

15. Mexican Layered Dip (RC)

This flavor wasn’t bad, it just didn’t impress me very much.

16. Cheddar Cheese

At first the taste is heavy on cheddar, but then the blue cheese aftertaste comes through. I’d avoid this flavor because two better cheddar flavors are available (Cheesy Fries and Kickin’ Cheddar). 

17. Barbeque

My bias against barbeque flavored chips causes me to rank this flavor in the southern regions of the list. It’s not bad, but I like barbeque sauce on meat, not potatoes.

18. Jalapeno

This chip packs as much kick as the Extreme series chips (even more than Smokin’ Ranch). It has a very peppery taste followed by a peppery aftertaste (how’s that for descriptive?). If you like peppers this flavor is worth checking out.

19. Onion Blossom (RC)

I though all Pringles were good. I was wrong. Onion Blossom is a travesty in a chip. I almost threw away some of these chips, they were that bad. They do not taste anything like a Bloomin’ Onion from Outback Steakhouse.

20. Mozzarella Sticks & Marinara (RC)

And then I realized Onion Blossom was not as bad as Pringles get. This flavor is even worse. They taste nothing like mozzarella cheese or marinara sauce. Blech.

So there you have my Pringles rankings and review. I think I’ll lay off the chips for the next few weeks. I’m not sure where the line between addiction and appreciation falls, but something tells me Pringles are found near it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

