Dag Hammarskjold: Markings

I own two copies of Dag Hammarskjöld’s book Markings. The first one I purchased a decade ago at a used book sale (a well-spent fifty cents). I really enjoy Dag’s mixture of poetry, prose, and thoughts. Here are two excerpts that I particularly like:

“We carry our nemesis within us: yesterday’s self-admiration is the legitimate father of today’s feeling of guilt.”

And the second:

Beauty: a note that set the heartstrings quivering as it flew by; the shimmer of the blood beneath a skin translucent in the sunlight.

Beauty: the wind which refreshed the traveler, not the stifling heat in dark adits where beggars grubbed for gold.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Thoughts

2 responses to “Dag Hammarskjold: Markings

  1. Bernie Jacabella

    How interesting. I also have a yellowed paperback copy of Markings that has journeyed with me for many years(Gary has a copy of his own)…one of my favorite quotes,among many, is on page 105. “When the morning’s freshness has been replaced by the weariness of midday, when the leg muscles quiver under the strain, the climb seems endless, and suddenly, nothing will go quite as you wish-it is then that you must not hesitate.”
    Courage for the journey! Bernie
    PS I really enjoyed our conversations at the beach.

  2. thebenjamin

    That is another excellent quote. Once in the past I wanted to use that particular quote in a conversation, but I didn’t because I had no idea how to pronounce Dag Hammarskjold’s name. I’ve since looked it up (sounds something like Hammer’-hweld), so I’m good to go now.

    I also enjoyed catching up last weekend. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

