SCEFC Set List (September 28)

This coming Sunday I am serving as the worship leader at State College Evangelical Free Church. The message is titled “A Community of Grace (Part II).” The team will be small this week, I have one vocalist and a drummer to work with.

I did not have a concise theme in mind as I put this set list together. I suppose it is a bit of a thematic buffet.

Song #1- (C) Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing – Robert Robinson

This is a wonderful song to start a service with. I love the phrase “tune my heart to sing Thy grace” in the first verse. My heart seems to go out of tune more frequently than a $10 guitar on a rainy day.

Song #2 – (D) Holy – Brenton Brown  

Since we just requested to have our hearts tuned to sing the praise of God, it seems fitting that a simple song of praise should follow. The mercy of God is mentioned int he chorus of this song, and I think that ties in well with the next song.

Song #3 – (G) Only Grace – Matthew West & Kenny Greenberg  

I do not know this song well. Over the past two weeks I have been trying to learn it. Pastor Tober instructed the music coordinators to use the song in every service for the next several weeks. I really like the lyrics of this song, but I am not a big fan of parts of the melody. It seems it is written for individual (or well-rehearsed group) performance and not congregational singing. I am considering removing some of the notes in places where the melody takes a detour, but I haven’t decided on this yet. I also slid it back to the key of G to make it more congregant friendly (West sings it in B or Bb).

Song #4 – (A) Blessed Be Your Name – Matt Redman & Beth Redman

I have not used this song in a long time. It is a reminder to worship every day in every circumstance. I’m not sure why I have so much difficulty turning every blessing into praise, but it is a battle for me.

Closing Song – (G) How Can I Keep from Singing? – Chris Tomlin, Ed Cash, & Matt Redman 

I like leaving the service with this thought in mind: I should be more intentional in worshipping God with my life.

As I look back over this list the theme I see emerging is a reminder to worship. You could say the theme is reflecting on my ebenezer, though I’m using a version of Come, Thou Fount that does not mention Mr Scrooge.

2 Comments

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

2 responses to “SCEFC Set List (September 28)

  1. Janice

    Glad to see you are still worshiping and leading.
    Bernie gave me this site. Hope you are doing well.

  2. thebenjamin

    Thanks for stopping by, Janice.

Leave a Reply

