SCEFC Set List (August 31)

This coming Sunday I am serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church. The message will be on Psalm 13, with the title “A Song for God’s Love.” I decided to focus on the general theme of the love of God.

Song # 1 – (F) God of Wonders – Marc Byrd & Steve Hindalong

I like this song as a prelude. The chorus is so simple and solid. The second verse is interesting:

Early in the morning, I will celebrate the light. When I stumble in the darkness, I will call Your name by night.

When I sing this I am interpreting it like this: I am thankful for the times (morning/light) when I can see things clearly; the times when my priorities are aligned and I am focused. When this is not the case, I want to ask for help to remedy the situation.

At the end of this song I am considering showing a graphic, a map of the rest of the songs. It has central PA in the background. I designed it in PhotoShop. 

A song map

The intention of the map is to highlight the theme for the morning, and to allow the congregants (one of my favorite words) to prepare for the next 15 minutes. It also removes the distraction of guessing the next song. I’m not sure if I’ll use it or not . . . time will tell.

Song #2 – (G) Holy is the Lord – Chris Tomlin & Louie Giglio

This song is a brief detour from the theme of God’s love. It talks about the glory of God. I think it is a nice foundation to start upon. Oh yeah, for the record, I interpret the raised hands and bowed knees as symbolic gestures of surrender.

I’ve decided to play this song in the key of G. The key of A is tempting, but I feel it is better for congregational singing in G.

Song #3 – (G) Hallelujah (Your Love Makes Me Sing) – Brenton Brown & Brian Doerkson

Now we’re focusing on the love of God. This song uses the word hallelujah quite often. A often as I hear that word I still always struggle to remember the definition when I am using it. Sure I know what it means, but the challenge is to strongly associate the meaning with the word . . . at the time of usage.

Song #4 – (G) I Am Thine, O Lord – Fanny Crosby

This is one of my favorite hymns. It contains a considerable amount of archaic language, which causes me to use it sparingly (this will be the first time I will use it at E-Free). But the content is dynamite. The verses speak of salvation, faith, desire, and the love of God. The chorus is a plea to be drawn closer to the cross and the bleeding side of Christ. I see the chorus serving two main purposes: 1) A reminder that my salvation is through the blood of Christ. 2) A call to be drawn near to Christ and not focus on myself.

Song #5 – (G) Your Love Oh Lord – Third Day

Yet another reminder of God’s love, plus a statement of intent to worship and trust.

Closing Song – (E) How Deep the Father’s Love for Us – Stuart Townsend

I think this is a good song to wrap things up at the end of the service. Sure, it’s not an up tempo song, but it is very powerful.

This song has some interesting timing. My sheet music changes from 4/4 to 6/4 numerous times throughout. I have also seen the song written in the ultra rare 5/4 time signature.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

