Baseballtown, PA

The greater Reading area has been dubbed Baseballtown. Last night I caught a game between the Reading Phillies and the Erie Seawolves. The start of the game was delayed 45 minutes by rain. I purchased a general admission ticket and wandered around the ballpark. Over the years I have attended many games at FirstEnergy Stadium (of course when I started going it was called Reading Municipal Stadium, then it changed to GPU Stadium, now it is FirstEnergy Stadium), so the place brings back many fond memories.

The R-Phils have been wearing jerseys that are a throwback to the glory days of the Phils. I took this picture from behind the media section on the left field side. 

Tyson Brummett on the mound

Erie dominated the game from the start. They posted five runs in the top of the first and never looked back. I took this picture from the walkway behind the left field wall.

I moved to a location behind the plate for several innings. I just sat there, marinating in baseball.

To further support my theory that every minor league baseball game has some sort of giant mascot race, a vegetable race went down. The broccoli was tackled by a Reading Phillie pitcher as he ran past the bullpen. Not to be deterred, he jumped up and overtook the cauliflower and the other light green vegetable (lettuce, cabbage?) in a photo finish.

Run, broccoli, run!

Going into the bottom of the 9th the R-Phils trailed Erie by a 15-1 margin. The scoreboard operator played a little clip with the theme mission impossible. I found this funny.

Comeback? That's impossible.

And sure enough, it was not to be. The R-Phils scored two runs, making the final 15-3. I believe 15 runs is the highest run total I have ever seen in person. Dumpo the Elephant busted out his trumpet to play the blues after the game.  

Dumpo plays the blues

Even though the game was a blowout from the 1st inning, it was still a good night. I love minor league baseball.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photos, Sports

Leave a Reply

