Where’s the Canal?

So I traveled to Erie today. On the way I managed to find five road construction projects, two of which caused serious delays. I also got to park on 322 and wait while firemen tried to extinguish some impressive flames that were attacking an old van on the shoulder of 322. I don’t think there was an accident or anything; the van just went up in flames. By the time the excitement ended all that was left of the van was a metal carcass. It was impressive.  I wanted to take a picture, but I didn’t have a good vantage point where I was parked, and as I drove by I did not want to contribute to the gawker delay.

I’m staying in a Courtyard by Marriott. In the immediate vicinity there is a staggering number of restaurants (here are just the ones I remember seeing: Cracker Barrel, Texas Roadhouse, Steak & Shake, Applebees, Burger King, Quaker Steak, Chick-fil-a, McDonalds, Safari Grill, and Boston’s Gourmet Pizza). So of all the places I could go, where did I have dinner? I went to Burger King and got a steakhouse burger. It was good, but not as good as advertising would indicate.

As I walked out of the Burger King I noticed a Krispy Kreme sign across the road. The “Hot” sign turned on. I took that as a sign from above. I went in and bought a half dozen doughnuts.

For the record, the life expectancy of a doughnut in my hotel room is 57 seconds. I managed to pause after eating just one to photograph the remaining doomed domed morsels of goodness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, General

Leave a Reply

