Psalm 100: Feeling Sheepish

Here’s an excerpt from the book of Psalms.

1Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.  
   2Worship the LORD with gladness;
    come before him with joyful songs.
3Know that the LORD is God.
     It is he who made us, and we are his;
     we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.
4Enter his gates with thanksgiving
     and his courts with praise;
     give thanks to him and praise his name.
5For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;
     his faithfulness continues through all generations.

– Psalm 100 (NIV)

Verse1 – I was thinking recently about the last time I shouted for joy. I’m not sure I can recall ever shouting for joy. My personality does not lend itself to shouting. I wonder if mentally shouting counts? Does shouting have to be loud?

Verse 3 – As someone who has done a bit of sheep-herding, I’m not a big fan of being called a sheep. Sheep are stupid. Yet as much as I despise sheep, I realize that they are a good representation of me. And that stinks. I’d rather be described as a lion in His pride or an elephant in His herd.

Verse 5 – Considering my sheep-like tendencies it is good to know that the love of the Lord endures forever. When I begin to think that I can earn His love, or that I am only worthy of His love when I am a lion or an elephant, I become more focused on myself than on Him. The fact that His love is offered freely is a source of joy . . . you could even go so far as to say shout-worthy joy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

