A Picnic Recap

Grif
Yesterday my mother’s side of the family celebrated July 4th with a picnic. Rain threatened for most of the day, but the majority of the afternoon was precipitation free. We had grilled burgers, sausages, hotdogs, and chicken complimented with an array of sides.
 
Every year my grandmother makes a pinata for the July 4th picnic. This year the pinata was modeled after Mickey Mouse. I snapped the first picture just before my cousin Griffin put a substantial dent in Mickey’s head. Check out that batting stance; Grif is a ballplayer.
 
My sister Sara hit Mickey right in the nose, causing serious cosmetic damage. This picture captures Mickey’s final photogenic moment.

My cousin Carson was cruising around on his bike. He wanted me to document him pulling a wheelie. Notice the bag of candy, from the by-then-deceased Mickey pinata, clutched in his right hand. I think this picture would be a bit more dramatic if I had taken it from the side. It’s hard to appreciate how high in the air he has the front wheel.

A new addition to the picnic this year was an outdoor ping-pong table. My cousin Zach schooled everyone with his “$59.99 paddle.”

My Grandmother Craft and Uncle Ned played doubles against Zach and Great-Aunt Darlene. I’m not sure what the final score was, but it was fun to watch. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By late afternoon the rain began to fall. We retreated to the two car garage, with things finally wrapping up around 11:00. It was a nice way to spend the 4th.

Here’s one last picture from the day. It’s a bee hanging out on an Echinacea purpurea.

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Photos

Leave a Reply

