Softball, Chocolate Cake, and Austin Powers

Here are three random things from today:

  1. Today I made my managerial debut with the State College Evangelical Free Church softball team. On a beautiful night in Bellefonte the E-Free team got trounced 20-5. I’m still trying to get used to enjoying softball purely for the game/fellowship (I recall Joel Hackman’s words: “Softball is fun, but it’s more fun when you win,”  which is my sentiment). Yes, we played softball poorly today. But I got everyone into the lineup, and at least we did manage to score a few runs. I guess I will need to get my competition fix on the tennis courts this summer. . . 
  2. If only all misunderstandings resulted in chocolate cake. After the game I went to Chilli’s with a few friends. While most of the party got margaritas in honor of Cinco de Mayo, I decided to get a chocolate milkshake. I guess I must not have spoken clearly when I ordered . . . for my chocolate milkshake turned into a piece of chocolate cake. I found this funny. So I traded a chocolate milkshake for a piece of chocolate cake, a laugh, and a few extra dollars.
  3. Movies that entice me. I was thinking about movies today. More specifically, I was thinking about movies that frequently play on television that I get stuck watching because I can’t change the channel once I stumble across them. The first ones to come to mind are any of the Austin Powers movies. Mike Meyers is a comedic genius. Austin Powers rocks. Yeah baby, yeah!   
2 Comments

Filed under General, Thoughts

2 responses to “Softball, Chocolate Cake, and Austin Powers

  1. The score was 20-5? I thought it was 19-4. I know we only scored 4 runs, one in the 4th and three in the 7th. Not that it matters much. I’m totally with you on the “it’s more fun when you win” part, though.

  2. thebenjamin

    Well, it depends who you talk to. Calvary scored 20. They didn’t count one of their runs that scored at the end of an inning (maybe the 2nd?) when Mike threw out a runner at third base. But the runner scored well before the out was recorded, so it should have gone into the books.
    You’re right about us scoring a total of 4 runs. So the final was 20-4 . . . even more depressing.

Leave a Reply

