The Pontipee Brothers

In Oregon during the 1850s, there lived a fictional family by the name of Pontipee. There were seven brothers: Adam, Benjamin, Caleb, Daniel, Ephraim, Frankincense, and Gideon (I was able to write those names from memory, I guess I’ve watched the film a few times). I’m referencing Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, in case you haven’t picked that up by now. Anyway, at one point the brothers’ names are discussed and the following quote is delivered: “There were no F names in the Bible, so Ma named him Frankincense because he smelled so sweet.” 

Well, by my count in the NIV Bible there are three F names:

  1. Felix (Acts 24)
  2. Festus (Acts 24:27)
  3. Fortunatus (I Corinthians 16:17)

Mrs Pontipee could have named her sixth son Felix, and saved him a considerable amount of grief. 

You have to love Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. It brought us some wonderful quotes:

  • “What fer? There’s only three little ones!”
  • “Bless your beautiful hide, wherever you may be.”
  • “Somehow it just don’t seem fittin’ for a man to spend his wedding night in a tree.”
8 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

8 responses to “The Pontipee Brothers

  1. You can’t forget, “Gideon, say something nice.” “Nice night for a coon hunt.”
    and “Oh, Lem, I thought you’d never ask!”
    and “What do I need manners for? I already got me a wife.”
    We(my daughter Emily and I) came here from Byran’s blog and can’t believe there’s a guy out there who appreciates 7B47B.

  2. thebenjamin

    That’s right, Gideon does know how to start a conversation =) Who needs compliments when you can discuss raccoon hunting?

    I can’t believe I referred to Gideon as Gabriel when I named the brothers, I need to edit the post.

    Also, discussing Gideon reminds me of one of his lines that I quoted recently: “I’m an uncle!” (though I didn’t follow up by fainting).

  3. Maria

    She could have indeed saved Frank a lot of grief, but then would he still be the loveable (to me anyway) and pugnacious Frankincense Pontipee? :D

    • thebenjamin

      It is true that the name Frankincense did contribute a lot to the character. I suspect with a name like Felix he would not have to be as pugnacious.

      Thanks for commenting!

  4. gokce

    I love this film songs actorss all of them great specially gideon :D

  5. hckyjns

    I wondered if there really were no F names in the bible. Perhaps Ma didn’t give him any of the F names you mentioned is because they are all only found in the new testament. Adam, Benjamin, Caleb, Daniel, Ephraim, Frankinsense & Gideon are all found somewhere in the old testament.

  6. Minty Fresh

    There were no F names in the Old Testament. You submitted names from the New Testament. The others have names from the Old Testament.

    • The statement in the movie is: “There were no F names in the Bible. . .” The Old Testament was never mentioned. I think the Pontipees likely had a King James Bible, which would have the New Testament.

Leave a Reply

