Enough About Them, Let’s Talk About You

The fashion in which companies advertise their merchandise fascinates me. Most commercials rely very little on logic, fairness, or common sense. The intended result is to take your money, not make you happy or improve your quality of life.

One current advertising campaign that I find rather hypocritical is the current Apple Macintosh series (Hello I’m a Mac. And I’m a PC) that features Justin Long.

Throughout the series the PC character is petty, negative, and dishonest. The message is that PCs are inferior and annoying. What makes this funny, is that Apple is creating a caricature of their rivals. In this process they are acting in the very manner for which they are condemning their rivals. At the end of one of these commercials I wonder: what did I learn about Apple computers?

I really dislike negative advertising.

Tell me about your product. If your product is good, let it speak for itself. Don’t undermine your integrity by attacking your rival.

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “Enough About Them, Let’s Talk About You

  1. Good writing. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed my Google News Reader..

    Matt Hanson

Leave a Reply

