San Luis Obispo in the Dark

I’ve been wanting to photograph San Luis Obispo after dark. This evening I took a walk with my camera and a tripod and found a vantage point from which to shoot. The stars were bright and dramatic. I programmed several different long exposure settings. Here are some of the pictures.

San Luis Obispo at night.

San Luis Obispo at night.

Downtown San Luis Obispo at night (with a longer exposure than the previous picture).

Downtown San Luis Obispo at night (with a longer exposure than the previous picture).

This one was with a very long exposure. A light was moving slowly on the peak across the valley, which is visible in the center of the photo.

sanluisobispo_night1

San Luis Obispo at night, with a light in the distance.

From where I was standing I could sense the ridge behind me as I was photographing the city. It was looming in the shadows, barely perceptible. But I knew it was there. So I opened the aperture all the way on my camera, set the shutter speed around 60 seconds, and shot the darkness. The picture surprised me. The ridge is very visible.

The ridge behind me, shot with about a one minute exposure.

The ridge behind me, shot with about a one minute exposure.

When I looked south toward the outskirts of town a tree was in my field of vision. This area was also pretty dark. I decided to try another long exposure shot.

San Luis Obispo lights in the distance.

Southern San Luis Obispo lights in the distance.

Now I need to get back to work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photos

Leave a Reply

