A Chipotle Burrito Weigh-In

I first visited a Chipotle Mexican Grill a couple of summers ago (see a post about that experience). I was impressed. At the time I estimated that a Chipotle burrito weighed close to a half pound. Since then I have returned to Chipotle and each and every time I wonder about the weight of the burrito I purchased. Sadly I do not travel with a scale.

It got to the point that this unresolved issue was lingering in the back of my mind like an itch I could not scratch. How much does a Chipotle burrito weigh? Then a new Chipotle came to State College at 116 Heister St, which is rather close to my lab. In my lab there are many precise scales. Opportunity beckoned.

Now I usually do not eat lunch when I am on campus. In my 4+ years here at PSU I have purchased lunch once while on campus. It’s just something I avoid doing. But at times situations arise that demand a change in routine, such as the need to weigh a burrito.

This afternoon I walked to Chipotle and bought a barbacoa burrito (barbacoa, white rice with cilantro and lime, black beans, tomatoes, sour cream, cheese, and lettuce in a flour tortilla). I scurried back to my lab. I’m not gonna lie, I was pretty excited about weighing this burrito.

The moment of truth.

The burrito weighed in at 669.4 grams. That’s the equivalent of 1.47577 pounds. Effectively tripling my previous estimate of 1/2 pound. That is a heavyweight burrito.

No reputable experiment is finished until replication has been done. I need to weigh a few more Chipotle burritos and a few fajitas to fully reach closure. I’d love to see one break the 1.5 lbs mark.

There are so many things to be curious about in this world.

8 Comments

Filed under Food

8 responses to “A Chipotle Burrito Weigh-In

  1. I just stumbled upon this. Try weighing the following burrito. I don’t know if you have tried to double your meat? or mix meats? This is by no way means a cheap burrito.
    Ask for any combination of 4times the meat.
    example: all 4 meats in 1 burrito
    example2: double barbacoa and double chicken.
    etc etc.
    That should break your 1.5lb mark.

    • I’ve never tried to double or mix the meat in a burrito before. In terms of breaking the 1.5 lbs barrier it feels a bit like cheating, for it is not a regular Chipotle burrito. If I have to pay extra for the burrito it moves it into another category. I’m still aiming for the 1.5 lbs mark, some day it will happen. . .

  2. Theo

    Ask for extra rice, both beans, fajita, chicken, tomatoes, green tamatillo, corn, 2 scoops sour cream, cheese, lettuce. Double wrap.

    None of this increases the base price.

    Hello 2lbs burrito. You got this.

  3. Thanks for this. I used your estimate to illustrate how much food waste Towson University composts each year. The answer: 155,102 Chipotle burritos!

  4. Anonymous

    I must say, for a long while I’ve wondered how much a Chipotle burrito weighed, but never had the motivation to measure or the brains to poll the world wide web. However, I must say, I’m glad that this story was the source of my newly found knowledge. Well done, sir. Save for one minor detail…

    The physicist in me cringes at the sight of misused significant digits. The weight in lb should be no more accurately reported than 1.476.

  5. Anonymous

    I work at my campus cafeteria at university, my burritos that I roll always pass the 2 lbs mark easily. I’ve heard of 5 lbs and 7 lbs burritos before too, but I think those ones need a much larger size of tortillas, probably made in house only.

Leave a Reply

